Anitschkow Prize

About the Prize

The EAS Anitschkow Prize is the Society’s most prestigious distinction, awarded to outstanding scientists in the area of atherosclerosis and linked metabolic disturbances. The recipient of the Prize receives the Anitschkow Medal, an award of ten thousand Euros in recognition of their contribution to the study of atherosclerosis, presents the Anitschkow Lecture as part of the Opening Ceremony at EAS Congress, and is invited to write a review for the Society’s Journal, Atherosclerosis.

Anitschkow Prize 2024

Professor Bart Staels PhD
UFR3S Sciences de Santé et du Sport, University of Lille, France

The European Atherosclerosis Society is delighted to announce Professor Bart Staels as the recipient of the 2024 Anitschkow Award. The Award recognises his outstanding contributions to the fields of metabolic and cardiovascular disease, in particular his research into the role of nuclear receptors in the control of inflammation and lipid and glucose homeostasis.